The Liebstar Award & Daily Dose of Adventures

Hey my honeeeeys ❤

Just a warning, this is going to be a MAHOOSIVE post okay? So if you’re sleepy and want light reading, this essay is not for you. Read it another day. Go to sleep xoxo

So I’ll start off with my OOTD and what I did today:

IMG_1072 IMG_1071 IMG_1066 IMG_1067

I looooooove McDonald’s breakfast: just because they do the yummiest bagels ever! I could eat them forever.

IMG_1068

Today was family day and my parents and I went to visit my Grandma’s grave. This was the first time I had been since her death in 2012 (2 YEARS! I felt terrible, I bet she was scolding me as I stood at her grave :(). It was beautiful, there was a waterfall picture with a pretty tree engraved on it as well as the writing in chinese. I didn’t take a picture as I was in a cemetery: it would’ve been awkward and either unacceptable or frowned upon. But guys it was lovely.

We then went for lunch: sushi is by far my favourite food!

IMG_1073

Then my mum and I went shopping around Preston for a bit before we went to dinner at one of my dad’s friends with some family friends aha. My parents have more friends than me I think.

His friend as well as having a tiny diner also runs an Asian supermarket that sells a range of oriental food from Korea to China to Malaysia. And I found THESE!

IMG_1075 IMG_1074

How cute are they? I didn’t buy them because I would’ve felt slight horrified at what I was eating.

They also made bubble tea in the diner! How could I refuse? I had a honeydew flavoured one, it was a tad too sweet but still lovely!

IMG_1076

Anyway onto the more wordy part of my day:

I GOT NOMINATED FOR THE LIEBSTAR AWARD  OHMYGODOHMYGOD

The amazing  AisForAimee nominated me and I’m so so so so sososososososos happy!

I didn’t even realise people were actually taking what I wrote seriously and this is so motivating but I couldn’t have done it without all of you guys pushing me and inspiring me.

I’ve never really been nominated or even got an award before. Except for when I was a child and I won a prize for an art contest, for a picture my mum drew LOL. Woops. I was like 5, I could barely concentrate long enough to hold a pencil, I blame the judges for not realising that. But yeah, it’s always really been the teachers or people being like ‘It’s okay, participating is the most important thing.’

And I’m there like, when is this going to happen to me:

So yeah, I am superpsyched to have been nominated!

The rules are as follows:
-First, post 11 random facts about yourself.
-Then, answer the 11 questions that the person who nominated you will post.
-Finally, choose 11 new blogs with under 200 followers for their Liebster Award, notify them that they have been nominated, and think of 11 questions for them to answer!

11 Random Facts about yours truly:

1. I am infact born in England. (So strangers stop asking me where I come from, I was born and bred British like you. I’m like your twin. But cool.)

2. My guilty pleasure are teenage books. Being an adult makes me feel like I have to be super literate, especially since I’m taking Literature, but really I love love love teenage books hahaa.

3. I am terrible at maths.

4. I had to resit a year of college (because I was terrible at maths and apparently biology too! Don’t rely on me to make any scientific discoveries.)

5. When I was 10, my Aunt accidentally ripped the neck of my teddy bear that I’d had since I was like 3 and I cried. Don’t judge me.

6. My nickname was China in High School.

7. I have a highly low tolerance level.

8. I think I need anger management…

9. I wear glasses, but resort to contacts in attempt to not look too stereotypically chinese.

10. I love cats but am mildly allergic.

11. I hate Coriander. Why do you exist? You taste disgusting. WEED.

Question Time!

1. Why did you start blogging?

I had thought about it for a while because I followed so much YouTubers that had blogs but I was too scared. Until I read a girl in my Literature class’ blog, now she was really quiet and nice and I never ever expected her to do something like blogging and it kind of kicked me up the backside like ‘Sammi, what are you doing you lazy oaf? Get a move on.’ And that’s when I decided to start 🙂

2. Where did your blog name come from?

ERRRRR… My favourite poem ever in the entire world is Robert Browning’s – The Laboratory. My favourite line is:

‘And yonder soft phial, the exquisite blue,’

I dunno why, it just is. So since my favourite colour is green I decided to manipulate it to what I would like. Since GreenPhial sounds like some kind of  toxic waste I decided EmeraldPhial was more pretty.

3. What’s your favourite of my own posts?

I like my OOTD’s since I love sharing my passion for clothes with you guys, and it makes me feel like there is a point to my clothes hahaa. But I’m starting to like my ‘Daily Dose of Adventures’ ( (as I am now naming it) since I also like telling you guys what I’ve been upto, you guys are essentially my diary ❤

4. How do you find new blogs to follow?

People who follow me or comment etc. As well as other bloggers that promote or talk about other bloggers, I always go check them out. Also fashion company’s and magazines are now working more with fbloggers so since I follow all their social media when they promote or talk about working with a certain blogger, if I don’t already know them I go check them out.

5. Would you ever stop following a blog? Why?

If I saw them criticising something/someone for their own opinion or anything like that then I’d probably unfollow them as such negativity/closedmindedness is not needed to me. Also if someone was spending more time begging for followers than posting then I’d also stop following: what’s the point? No one (well I) would follow you if you’re not posting anything that reflects your passions etc.

6. What is your opinion on commenting on blog posts? 

I love it – I admit I don’t do it as often as I want and that is something I definitely want to improve on – but it’s a good way to show you appreciate someone’s blog/post and that you’re reading it and actually taking it in rather than just liking it like ‘meh, that was good’. It’s also a good way to meet and get to know people, I know a couple of bloggers I’ve begin to really like due to commenting as I feel it’s so much more personal and makes us closer. I don’t know if they feel the same but that’s how I feel about them 🙂

7. Name one author whose books you will always read?

Derek Landy – I hope after he finishes the Skulduggery Pleasant books he write more soon. He is just so funny and I haven’t laughed so much whilst reading a book as when I’ve been reading his books. They just have that sense of sarcastic humour that is instilled into us Brits. I wee everytime. There’s not been one book of his I have read and not laughed like a million times.

8. If you could only recommend one book for another to read, what would it be and why?

The Girl With All The Gifts by M.R. Carey – if you like dystopian things, I read this a while back and I still think about it. I just think it’s a brilliant twist on the typical zombie apocalypse. I loved it. When I finished I couldn’t stop buzzing about it to Tom or my friends who didn’t really appreciate it but I didn’t care, it was so good.

9. What is your most anticipated read of 2014? 

The Dying of The Light – Derek Landy. LAST BOOK OF SKULDUGGERY PLEASANT. I’m scared to read it.

10. Who is your favourite Designer? 

Not to be racially bias but Anna Sui.

11. How do you pick your outfits? 

With daily outfits, there’s not really a ‘how’ as to a ‘I-put-on-what-I-feel-like-and-makes-me-feel-happy’ but with nights out or birthdays and events etc, I obviously plan waaaaay ahead and burn the internet with my rays from my eyes to find something I like.

11 golden girls/boys:

The Chesire Smile

Beauty with The Blogger

Moschino and mascara

ElliKitty

Roses’s Dailies

Every Girl Guide

Gatsby Girl

Many Little Obsessions

Taking Steps Into Another World

Kayla’s 5 things

Beccas British Blog

LOVE YOU GUYS! Honestly there were so many blogs I wanted to put as my nominations but I had to stick to the rules 😦

Keep up the good work!

Anyway so now that essay is over, if you’ve read this far, wow you really like my posts huh? THANKYOU I LOVE YOU.

It is now nearing 1am and I still need to tell all my nominees they’ve been nominated. I hope you don’t mind I’m sending you all the same message because I am knackered. With adding all the links and shiz, man, longest I’ve ever taken on a post!!!

Goodnight my dears, today’s been an amazing day!

June favourites tomorrow! and Shopping haul soooooon not everything’s arrived. Still waiting on Topshop, come on Topshop.

SC

xoxox

One thought on “The Liebstar Award & Daily Dose of Adventures

Leave a Reply

