Sunday is a day of relaxation and shopping.

Almost every Sunday me and my mother go shopping. Most weekends it is a clothes haul however, this weekend I was in a more beauty-orientated mindset.

Image

Products:

Real Techniques Core Collection £21.99

Soap and Glory Smoothie Body Lotion £10.00

Soap and Glory Sugar Crush Body Wash £10.00

Maybelline Superstay 7 Days Gel Nail Colour £4.49

Bourjois 123 Perfect Foundation £10.99

Collection Lasting Perfection Foundation £9.99

Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation £9.99

Soap and Glory Archery Brown Tint and Precison Pencil £10.00

Maybelline Big Eyes Waterproof Mascara £8.99

Maybelline Superstay 24 Hour Lip Colour £8.99

Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer £4.19

I did purchase two items from Primark though that I view as preparation for summer! As you can see I have a small obsession with things with collars.

Image

£13

Image

£8 (I think, I lost the receipt!)

Cosmetics wise, I will be posting my opinion of them later in the week once I get chance to use them. I’m always excited to try new things so if you have any tips or products you think I should try  (or want me to try for you) just comment and I’ll do it ASAP. Price wise, I used to be a loyal customer to Superdrug however, today I tried Boots and found that they are actually more purse friendly, only because they have more deals, if you were to buy just one product I would probably still stay with Superdrug…

So I quickly tried the three foundations; I got too excited.Image

The reason I decided to stray from my current foundation was due to the fact that this weekend I’ve had really dry skin and that thus made my foundation patchy and very revealing of my dry patches. I had been using the Maxfactor Whipped Creme Foundation just because with my skin tone having yellow undertones it was really difficult finding the right shade and I had fallen in love with the Bronze colour that Maxfactor offered. It had given me a light-medium coverage, however, it is a foundation only to be used when you have those good skin days where it’s hydrated and ‘plump’. Otherwise, like I said, patchiness and dry areas will be on show. So with this excursion I aimed to find a foundation for those days where your skin is too dry, or a tad oily and one in the middle. Since I only managed to try these foundations quickly on different areas of my face, this is only a first impression!

The Maybelline Healthy Mix foundation promised a hydrated look so I decided to get this to cure my dry-faced condition, I actually wore this to work and I can quite safely say I am happy with this. The coverage is light however you can build it up if needs be, and it gave my face a more plump and healthier look rather than the flakiness I had been suffering. I remember trying the Healthy Mix Serum and found that a bit too oily for my skin and rather cakey. But obviously this is for my skin and I can only give my opinion; what worked and didn’t work with my skin might do the opposite for yours!

The Collection Lasting Perfection is a foundation that promises 16 hour wear and contains no oil, so I wasn’t surprised at the medium coverage and the heaviness on my face. However I also think that the heaviness was due to my dry skin + the no oil. I haven’t worn this properly yet so I can give a better judgement on it once I do. Considering this, my first impression is that this is a foundation for those days where your skin is so healthy it is glowing, it has a very matte texture when on your face thus I might suggest this for people maybe with oilier skin? I do quite like this foundation and can’t wait to try it once my skin rejuvenates.

The Maybelline 123 Perfection, I mostly bought because it says it is ‘anti dark circles, anti dull complexion and anti redness’. Since I do have quite a problem with redness and dark circles (hello the hard life of being a student) this took my interest. Again I only tried this on a small patch of my face but I’d put it between the moisturising Healthy Mix and the oil-sucking Lasting Perfection (so maybe for people who have combination skin or just normal skin). It didn’t seem to be as hydrating as the Healthy Mix but wasn’t as mattifying as the Lasting Perfection. So I guess this foundation would be perfect for in the middle days, where you feel like your skin is mildly dry yet not so dry that you feel like a human exfoliator.

As always as a fixer-power I used Maybelline Fit Me Powder just because again, it is really hard to find power/foundation to match my yellow undertones and I have had no problems with it in the past.

I realise this post has been a long essay on make up products and less fashion orientated but… It’s college tomorrow! So my fashion show for you guys will start tomorrow! Hope you guys had a good weekend and thanks for reading this essay.

Ps. Hello to all my followers, it warms my heart and motivates me to see that little ‘+’ sign!

6 thoughts on “Sunday is a day of relaxation and shopping.

  1. I love the second dress;) By the way, have you tried using Maybelline FIT me foundations? They have same quite sandy shades wich might match those yellow undertones 😉

    Like

    • I actually have tried the Fit Me Foundations and for some reason it just didn’t mesh with my skin! It caused breakouts and it was a little heavy for my skin. Though I do agree they have an amazing colour range especially for my yellow tones so it is a shame 😦 thankyou for your suggestion though! I appreciate it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

